The End????

My mother in law sent me a gift box to cheer my up a few weeks ago (in true Big-Phat fashion I did an unboxing video of my wife and I opening the gift box and revealing the contents which included, among other goodies, the superman cup I now use quite regularly).  She sent it because 2013 is not turning out to be as awesome as I thought it would. Earlier this year one of my cousins passed away. His mother was unable to make it to the funeral because she was diagnosed with a severe type of cancer days before. She just passed away a few weeks ago. At the end of March my brother passed away at the age of 48; still relatively young.

IMAG1355I’m not used to being on this side of the funeral arrangements. Normally I am sitting with grieving families praying for them and with them and trying to comfort them. But this was new for me. And it is still kind of difficult to deal with.

However, this did make me realize why we as Christ followers are sometimes so persistent in sharing our faith. It is because we believe that death is not the end, but the beginning. Many Christ followers believe that death is the beginning of a transition where we transition from this life into eternity.  I am NOT using this space to defend that belief or to try to explain it.  However, I would be happy to do so and provide practical and factual information for this belief if anyone wants to contact me to find our more.  However, I am stating that this is clearly what many Christ followers believe. And it is this belief that drives us to want to share the good news of Jesus Christ with those around us. We are not judgmental, we are not anal, we are not delusional or ignorant.  We are just convinced that there’s more to this life than just this life. Because of that we want to do everything we can to share that information with those in our lives.  So don’t hate me, don’t judge me, maybe even listen to me and hear my love for you coming through.

Can't Wait to Hear From You

