8 Simple Rules for Visiting New York City

This past week I was in New York City to say my last goodbyes to my great aunt who passed away.  Although, as expected, it was good to be with my family it was extremely painful to say goodbye to a loved one.  However, as Christi and I drove into the city I realized it had been at least a dozen or more years since I had last visited New York.  As we sat in traffic for almost two hours trying to make our way across the George Washington Bridge I realized why.  Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love New York.  I was born and raised there.  But if you have not been there for a while or are planning on visiting, let me give you 8 Simple Rules for Visiting New York City:

  1.  1.Yield to all New York license plates.  Chances are they drive a lot better than you do.
  2. Expect your car to be hit or bumped in traffic.  This is usually by the people that do not drive better than you do.
  3. Expect to eat great food.  I really don’t care what history says, pizza was discovered and made famous in New York City.
  4. Plan on people watching.  You will see interesting, famous, and unique people all over the city, and at least one person from almost every culture on the planet.
  5. Expect to be greeted by everyone.  Everyone is going to say hello.
  6. Expect to be ignored by everyone.  I know this sounds like a conflict but both are true and I can’t explain why.
  7. Expect to fall in love with the city.  It is truly one of the most beautiful and amazing cities you will ever see.
  8. Bring at least $100 in cash for tolls.  Nuff said.
Can't Wait to Hear From You

